Utah Guns Forum banner

Open carry rules in Utah

6K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  Boostjuice 
#1 ·
I'm new to Utah and currently shopping/researching for my first handgun (I own an AR and a 12ga for about a decade now) and I'd like to be as informed as possible before stepping into the handgun world.

I am 99% sold on a glock 19 gen 4 however I will most likely be open carrying in order to use the money I'd spend on the CCP for a training class or two first.

My question is what are the rules for open carry in Utah?

Is owb with my shirt over it "concealed"? Even if the muzzle is sticking out and its printing?

I guess, what are the specifics to open carry?

#2 ·
Without a permit open carry is just fine. You need to be two actions away from firing. So a Glock 19 could have a full mag, but no round in the chamber. Rack the slide, pull the trigger. Two actions. If you have your shirt over the gun, you are concealing, and that is illegal without a CFP, unless you are at your house or in your car. You must keep it visible.

You also need to stay away from school zones. That's 1000 feet away from a school, unless you are in your car driving past or if your house is within that zone. You cannot hop on a train or bus either with your gun unless you have a CFP. There are other places you can't carry, but most of them you can't carry there even with a CFP.

I highly recommend getting your CFP so you don't have to worry about some really dumb laws. It's only about $100 or so for the CFP depending on who you take it from. That will include the class and the background check from BCI. Well worth doing it now.

#3 ·
I have to agree with Tracy on this one. You can maybe take one training class with the money you save by waiting on the CCP. It's entirely too easy to forget and throw on a jacket or windbreaker and accidentally conceal or partially conceal. And honestly, the school zone thing alone makes it worth having.