Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that this IS about CCW but this is a VERY informative sit that I found as I playing around on the net.



Utah Concealed Carry CCW Laws and Information

Right-To-Carry Law Type: Shall Issue. Utah has several twists to the carry laws that you need to be aware. See the FAQ below as to carrying in bars. Utah does not prohibit carrying in a bar, but it is against the law being drunk with a firearm. CCW permit holders also may use that, as meeting the requirements of the background check required by the "Brady Bill".

76-10-530. Trespass with a firearm in a house of worship or private residence. As of December 27, 2007 the Utah web site showed only one church had requested that no CCW Permits honored and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a "Gun Free Zone".

Discuss Utah in the Utah Forum
State Legal Statute Source:
Sources: 53-5-704 Division duties - Utah Code §§ 23-20-11 et seq., 24-2-17, 76-10-301, 76-10-501 et
State Department Locations:
Utah Department of Public Safety
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 W. 5400 S.
P.O. Box 148280
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-8280
Phone: (801) 965-4445

Utah Attorney General
236 State Capitol
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114
Phone: (801) 366-0260
Fax: (801) 538-1121

Permit Costs & Info:
$65 5 years
Issuing Authority: Department of Public Safety, Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification

Click Here for CCW Permit Form
Open Carry Information:
Utah allows unlicensed open carry of a firearm that is at least 2 actions from firing. For example, a semi-auto may have a full mag but the chamber must be empty. Permit holder may open carry as well, but their firearms may be fully loaded. Please see http://opencarry.org/

Utah CCW Reciprocity Map

States that Honor Utah's CCW Permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan*, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wyoming

* Honors RESIDENTIAL Utah permits only.

State CCW Permits that Utah Honors:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming,

Frequently Asked CCW Questions:

If I get stopped by a police officer, do I, as a permit holder, have to tell the officer I have a gun in my possession
Absolutely! The requirement to identify yourself to a police officer as a permit holder in possession of a handgun is covered in Public Safety Rule R724-4-13. If an officer finds or sees a gun on your person during their contact with you, and you have not identified yourself as a permit holder in legal possession of a firearm, the officer must assume you are carrying the gun illegally and will take defensive action. For the safety of all involved, it is better to immediately identify yourself to the officer as a permit holder in possession of a handgun. This action gives the officer some assurance they are most likely dealing with a law abiding citizen.

As a permit holder, exactly where can I carry or not carry a handgun?
The concealed firearm permit only exempts the permit holder from three laws: carrying a concealed and loaded firearm in a vehicle; carrying a concealed firearm on your person and; carrying a loaded and concealed firearm on or about school property. All other state and federal laws still apply. Such as, you may not carry a firearm in secured areas of an airport and you may not carry a firearm in secure federal buildings. These areas should always be posted. But please be aware of these restrictions in case they are not posted.

: What about private businesses? Can they post signs prohibiting someone from carrying a gun into their business, even though the person has a concealed firearms permit?
Naturally, private property owners may apply whatever restrictions they want. Whether or not these restrictions violate one's constitutional rights is for the civil courts to decide. But the only statutory restrictions on a permit holder are secured areas such as airports and federal buildings.

If I feel someone MAY be a threat to me, can I show them I have a gun to scare them off?
Any action you take with a gun must be in direct self-defense; otherwise, it is considered threatening with a dangerous weapon and you will be labeled as the aggressor. You may be criminally charged and you will most likely have your permit to carry a concealed firearm revoked. Carrying a firearm is very serious business. There is no room for mistakes. If you pull a firearm on someone or even display the weapon, then it must be in self defense or it is not justified.

May I carry my loaded and concealed firearm into a bar or other drinking establishment?
There is nothing in state statute that prohibits permit holders from being in a bar with a concealed firearm. However, it is illegal to be intoxicated and in possession of a firearm. The level of intoxication that is considered illegal is the same standard as when driving a car. (.08 B.A.C.)

If I have a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit do I have to go through the standard "Brady Bill Background Check" when I purchase a firearm?
A valid Utah concealed firearm permit may be used to waive the BCI background check and the corresponding fees. However, the dealer is still required to call BCI to confirm the validity of the concealed firearm permit.

Bookmark and Share:

Disclaimer: By using this site, you agree to hold harmless Stuart & Clark Associates, LLC, CarryConcealed.net's web host, and CarryConcealed.net volunteer contributors. The information on this site should be considered "as-is" and is not guaranteed to be accurate in any way. The maintainers of this site make an effort, when possible, to try to verify the information, but we are not lawyers and, therefore, we cannot and will not give legal advice. If you need accurate answers, hire an attorney who is licensed in the state in question. For more information please view our terms of use.

home | news | the law | blog | reviews | articles | forum | courses | links | contact | privacy | terms or use | sitemap (xml)
© 2007 CarryConcealed.net. All Rights Reserved.

Web Site and SEO Maintained by Prairie Design
Hosting and Site Management by SyCom Services Corporation
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.