Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just moved here from Oregon and do not have a Utah DL. No point in getting one as I am a student and more than likely heading back to Oregon.

In order to purchase a Handgun, you have to show proof of Utah residency per BCI. What is the defenition though? I have emailed (No reply) and called (No answer) with no result. I have utilities in my name @ my current mailing address, paystubs, Student ID, and a leasing contract. Would these be appropriate documents or am I limited to purchasing in OR only?

Mods/Admins: Please move if this is in the wrong section
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,614 Posts
Not so simple, indeed.

The ffl will need "government issued ducuments" showing your picture, age and address to complete the form 4473 for firearm sale.

A Utah ID card should do the trick.

[URL=http://driverlicense.utah.gov/:1n8z373p said:
UT-DLD[/URL]":1n8z373p]Acceptable Proof of Utah Residence

Utah law requires proof of a Utah residence address from all Driver License, Identification Card, and Driving Privilege Card applicants. Proof must be verified by at least two different types of documents.

In order to verify a residence address as the individual’s place of domicile or an address where the individual resides as a resident, an application for a Utah driver license, Utah driving privilege card, or Utah identification card shall be accompanied by a minimum of two different types of original (current and valid) documents from the following list identifying the individual’s name and residence address:

(a) Property tax notice, statement or receipt, within 1 year

(b) Utility bill, billing date within 60 days, no cell phone bill

(c) Utah Vehicle registration or title, current not expired

(d) Bank statement, within 60 days

(e) Recent mortgage papers

(f) Current residential rental contract

(g) Major credit card bill, within 60 days

(h) Court order of probation, order of parole or order of mandatory release, must display residential address on the order

(i) Transcript(s) from an accredited college, university, or high school

The division may also consider other documentation furnished by the individual if it can be determined that the documentation unequivocally demonstrates proof of residency or domicile.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
Basicly you have to have a DL (or other gov. ID). So unless you want to call utah home your are stuck with oregon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Utah ID Card huh. So If I get that, I should be good to go?

Will having a Utah ID Card AND a valid Oregon DL cause problems?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
Only if you get pulled over. You have a time period where you will have to get your DL changed over (i think like 30-90 days)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,614 Posts
NotSoSimple said:
Utah ID Card huh. So If I get that, I should be good to go?
Will having a Utah ID Card AND a valid Oregon DL cause problems?
A UT ID card AND a UT Resident CFP, both showing your valid UT residence and you should be. But it would be a really good idea to get your DL changed over too, you'll be waiting in the line at the DLD anyway...

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ruger Collector said:
NotSoSimple said:
Utah ID Card huh. So If I get that, I should be good to go?
Will having a Utah ID Card AND a valid Oregon DL cause problems?
A UT ID card AND a UT Resident CFP, both showing your valid UT residence and you should be. But it would be a really good idea to get your DL changed over too, you'll be waiting in the line at the DLD anyway...

Problem with that is then we would have to change over car registrations as well. Then next year change everything BACK over to Oregon. Currently we are legal to keep our Oregon Plates/DL due to being students, and would save alot of $$ in the long run to not change.

Time to start looking at a UT ID Card. Thanks guys!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
or just get a non-rez CCW and buy from a private person.

(i am not sure on the whole multi state thing, but I think you can buy from a person and be out of state... if not feel free to set me straight)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,167 Posts
From what I understand, citizens are not supposed to sell their firearms to out-of-state residents. It's doubtful that many sellers know this, but I remember reading it somewhere.

You might be able to buy the firearm from an Oregon dealer and have them transfer it to a local FFL (just pay the transfer fee to the local FFL), but I can't be sure on that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
GeneticsDave said:
From what I understand, citizens are not supposed to sell their firearms to out-of-state residents. It's doubtful that many sellers know this, but I remember reading it somewhere.

You might be able to buy the firearm from an Oregon dealer and have them transfer it to a local FFL (just pay the transfer fee to the local FFL), but I can't be sure on that.
Even with say a Utah ID Card and a Utah CCW?

How much is the transfer fee usually? The other option is to 'purchase' the handgun from my father. Oregon law states a father can gift a son/daughter a handgun no questions asked. But then we run into the issue of shipping which will cost $100+
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,614 Posts
GeneticsDave said:
From what I understand, citizens are not supposed to sell their firearms to out-of-state residents. It's doubtful that many sellers know this, but I remember reading it somewhere..
http://www.atf.gov/firearms/faq/faq2.htm#d5
A person may sell a firearm to an unlicensed resident of his State, if he does not know or have reasonable cause to believe the person is prohibited from receiving or possessing firearms under Federal law.

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(3) and (5), 922(d), 27 CFR 478.29 and 478.30]

GeneticsDave said:
You might be able to buy the firearm from an Oregon dealer and have them transfer it to a local FFL (just pay the transfer fee to the local FFL), but I can't be sure on that.
That's backwards. To receive a handgun from a Utah ffl without government issued documents stating Utah as residency the ffl would have to ship to another ffl in his state of residence.

His best bet is to get the Utah ID/CFP while he is a resident, then he may purchase a handgun in Utah. When he moves to OR then he will need to notify BCI and have his permit changed to non-resident.

 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,167 Posts
Ruger: Thanks for the links on the first point, the second one I was really iffy about, so again thanks for pointing me straight.

It seems he is fairly reluctant to change residency, I can see that, but it sure is difficult to get firearms when you are an out-of-state resident. I guess he could always take a trip back to OR to buy his gun :?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,167 Posts
NotSoSimple said:
How much is the transfer fee usually? The other option is to 'purchase' the handgun from my father. Oregon law states a father can gift a son/daughter a handgun no questions asked. But then we run into the issue of shipping which will cost $100+
You'd have to call individual FFLs, transfer fees vary quite a bit. If you do get a gun from your father, you will have to very careful that it is not purchased as a 'straw purchase' or even possibly viewed as such - the BATF is cracking down on these a lot recently. This gets hairy; to be honest, it may just be a better idea to wait, go back to OR to get your firearm, or try to obtain Utah residency.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top