Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I am new here, and I am still trying to get familiar with the place. However, I have a couple of questions and a suggestion. I came here because I want to get my CFP permit. As a newbie, I am confused on the process. I know my questions are probably answered somewhere buried in this forum. It might be helpful for someone to create a sticky that always stays at the top of the list that contains basic information about the process of obtaining a CFP permit. I have questions such as how much does it cost? How long does it take? What are the basic requirements? How much training is involved? Where are the classes held? Who can be a trainer? What forms have to be filled out? Etc. Thank you for your warm welcome and responses.

NHS
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
NHS said:
It might be helpful for someone to create a sticky that always stays at the top of the list that contains basic information about the process of obtaining a CC permit.
Excellent recommendation

I have questions such as how much does it cost?
Most of your questions are answered at http://bci.utah.gov/CFP/CFPHome.html

The cost is $65.25. You must also provide a finger print card. Most police stations provide fingerprinting services for around $10. BCI will do this for $13.

How long does it take?
Varies based on demand. Right now, they seem to be coming back in a month or so.

What are the basic requirements?
Take the course, pay the money and submit the application, pass the criminal background check, and that's about it.

How much training is involved?
The CFP courses are usually 3 or 4 hours. No shooting is required, though some courses offer or require it. Be sure to have your instructor sign your application. Courses are usually around $20 or so. Mine was free at Cabelas because I work at a state university.

Where are the classes held?
All over the place. You can even pay instructors to do the class in your home. Contact your local gun store, gun club, or many of the instructors on here (check the Training section) for details.

Who can be a trainer?
Trainers have to be certified by the state. Instructions are on the BCI site.

What forms have to be filled out?
Just the new applicant form at http://bci.utah.gov/CFP/ccwapp.pdf
You have to include payment or credit card number, the finger print card, a copy of your drivers license, a passport type photo (take your own and have it taken and printed at Walmart, Kinkos, etc.), and the signature and stamp of your CFP course instructor.

It's really a very easy process.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you apollosmith!!! Great info!
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,553 Posts
W. Clark Aposhian will give the course for $50 which includes a packet that, by the end of the course, is ready to be put into the mailbox for the CFP application. It includes all the fingerprinting, passport photo, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
701 Posts
Gunnies down in Orem has a class on certain days of the month. I can't remember what those days are but you can contact them and ask. Here is their link: http://www.gunnies.com/

They charge $50 and have everything done but getting the form notarized.

The class includes the picture and fingerprints.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
Thought I should post a link to gun laws for Utah in here too.

LINKY

The big ones are:
76-10-500
76-10-501
76-10-502
76-10-505
76-10-530
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,080 Posts
Our group will come to your location for groups of 5 or more. The State has sent out in their news letter that the CFP class MUST be at least 4 hours now. Please feel free to contact us with any questions. Also, we do have a class this thursday in Midvale if that helps ya at all. Be safe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
542 Posts
check out utahcarry.com I didn't take the class from them, but they hosted a class for my group concealed carry of utah. ( http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=22252024777 ) I thought they did a great job. They do everything for you, fingerprints, photo and even drop off the forums for you at b.c.i. for $50. if you have 5 or more people they will even come to your house for free.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,129 Posts
Hey NHS, did you ever get the permit? I just dragged my Web site into the 21st century kicking and screaming. See www.utahcfp.biz for the info on the class I teach, if you are still in the hunt and live in Utah valley or SLC valley.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
You can find classes in Utah and SLC counties at http://www.carryutah.com They have a group of 3 instructors that all teach a high quality class. You will find that the cost is going to be comparable anywhere you go. The most important thing is to get high quality instruction.

Jacob Paulsen
CCW Instructor
810-494-3672
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
447 Posts
I took the class at rangemasters just south of Provo and I really enjoyed it there. I mailed my application at the end of January and it took a month before they even opened it and charged me so I would recommend just hand delivering it if possible it will save you about a month of waiting.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
I took my class at FBMG, they were great and if you are a student or military the course is free. They also will do fingerprinting, passport photo, notary, and hand deliver for $5 each and the BCI fee of course. I thought it was a great class.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
UtahCFP said:
Hey NHS, did you ever get the permit? I just dragged my Web site into the 21st century kicking and screaming. See http://www.utahcfp.biz for the info on the class I teach, if you are still in the hunt and live in Utah valley or SLC valley.
I guess I can answer you a year later. Yes I did get my permit. I have had it for over a year now.
 
G

·
I’m going nuts. I mailed my appellation on March 14th, the check was cashed on April 3rd. I have e-mailed the BCI and they have tolled me it can take up to 120 days. It has been 79 days and still no permit. We all know the law is 60 days but come on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
I submitted my app in person at the BCI office, and paid cash on May 19th. I rec'd my permit on Aug 14th. Date on the permit is Aug 10th. umm, 85 days?

Pretty clear BCI is not in compliance.
-kkindles
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
can I ask here, does anybody do the class on a weekday? Mornings or afternoons? As a student, I am finding it very dificult to attend a course that will get me my permit when I am able to actually go. Does anybody do them at Weber State for students?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
822 Posts
IndependentThinker said:
can I ask here, does anybody do the class on a weekday? Mornings or afternoons? As a student, I am finding it very dificult to attend a course that will get me my permit when I am able to actually go. Does anybody do them at Weber State for students?
I think Divegeek has a pretty flexible schedule, but with anyone, you probably need to find several others to attend with you.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top