Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, do you guys know if it will be lawfully OK to OC with a Class A Misdemeanor on record. I got charge with Multiple ID's for having a fake ID in my car that was found on a pull over. I completed successfully all the judge order. I know I can't get a ccw for 5 years, but was wondering if it will be OK to OC with this on my background.
Thank you.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
My understanding is that IF you are legal to OWN or pass the background check at purchase from a FFL you are legal to OC in Utah BUT beware of the Utah unloaded requirement and then there is the Federal gun free school zones extending 1000 ft in all directions from the property line NOT THE BUILDING!

ETA: I am not a lawyer and my opinion is worth exactly what you have paid for it! For a true legal opinion it would be wise to check with an attorney who is well versed in Utah and Federal gun regulations. Remember, I won't be going to jail and the attorney to talk with won't be doing any jail time either. You are the one who will risk the jail time if you get caught breaking the law.

·
Registered
3,195 Posts
If you successfully finished all the court ordered, especially if it was something along the lines of six months without another incident, the the case would be dismissed, you should be good to go however - do pay close attention to the Utah unloaded issue and the 1000 foot rule, which stupidly includes all day cares! Just be cautious as heck.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the replay guys. I went and download C17-10-503 and I should be Ok, since I am not a restricted person. The only thing that sucks is have to wait 5 years to apply for ccw or 3 years to sponge.... Guess my hopes are more to the 3 year.

Sent from my LG-D851 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
crgonzalez08 said: