Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Birthday is coming up and rumor has it I might be getting a new G32. Problem is it is in Oregon.

I know you cannot ship/recieve a firearm unless you are a licensed dealer/collector.

However they do not ban sending parts. If it came in two seperate packages, say the frame and the slide in different boxes. Would this be legal?

Im trying to stay on the legal side of things the best I can. Let me know if this is inappropriate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
The part of the gun with the Serial # on it is generally considered the "Gun" even if it is in pieces. There are many places where you can get it shipped for under $25 to be legal.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,563 Posts
BATF says the frame/receiver - in and of itself - is the firearm. Sure, some people say you can break it down and legally ship separately but then, some people say you legally don't have to pay taxes.
I know you cannot ship/recieve a firearm unless you are a licensed dealer/collector.
Sure you can. You can legally ship to an FFL/manufacturer, legally receive a firearm that the manufacturer is shipping back to you, you can legally mail long guns at the post office, firearms can be shipped /received intrastate without an FFL, etc.

I should point out that state sales/registration/shipping laws can be much more restrictive than federal laws; contrast California laws to Utah laws, for example.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,600 Posts
Car Knocker said:
but then, some people say you legally don't have to pay taxes.
Actually there is *SOME* truth to this... my father-in-law has figured it out. The down-side is you'll visit numerous Tax courts fighting the issue until they finally give up and you'll be forced to live the life of a pauper b/c you won't have an SSN to get a job, get a driver's lic., etc... not the kind of "life" most people could deal with...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So if I shipped it to a local FFL, everything is ok?

Do you just call the local joe and tell him to expect it?

xmirage: Are said places credible? Any you reccomend?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
I have not used any here in utah that I can suggest, But you have to talk to the person with the FFL first to work out any details. Almost any store that sells guns, pawn shops, and even some members here have their FFL and will accept the gun for you with little/no hassle.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,563 Posts
Actually, it's best if you make arrangements with the receiving FFL prior to the firearm being shipped - saves on nasty surprises like your local FFL being out of the shop for 6 weeks while on vacation, unnegotiated prices, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,614 Posts
NotSoSimple said:
Good idea, I will see about digging up a FFL that is willing to work with me. Thanks guys.
Email Brant <at> Taylorgunsmithing.com, or give him a call (his number is on his website) he's great to work with and his prices are fair.

 
G

·
Just to clarify previous statements and add a few about shipping firearms.

To take possession of a firearm from any firearms dealer anywhere you must fill out form 4473 period.

Firearms can be shipped from one FFL holder to another state to state but the shipper must receive a signed copy of the recipient FFL's FFL license.

The one exception to this is what is commonly refereed too as repair and replacement. You can ship to an FFL, including a gunsmith, and they can ship back to the address from which the gun was received and only to that address and only for proposes of repair and replacement (that includes things like having Ivories fitted to your 1911!). You can't send it from your moms house and have it returned to your house. The repair and replace exception also applies to NFA weapons as long as the recipient is either the owner or a class 3 FFL holder. It is kind of crazy to think you could come home and have a machine gun sitting on your porch but it is possible :D

Most dealers will do an FFL to FFL transfer with no problem, Holiday gun club will just give you signed copies of their FFL is you are a member and you can send them to anyone you want. Holiday will receive the gun and do the 4473 for free if you are a member (or they used to they may charge a nominal fee now but it isn't much).

Gallenson's will not give you a copy of their FFL but will fax or send it to an FFL for you. They charge 25 bucks and there is no bull**** involved. I use Gallensons since I moved away from the Holiday area.

Get Some is good about it too but I think they charge 35$ or maybe a bit more.

One additional note:
UPS will only take firearms from their Central facility, that one near 201, don't even bother trying at one of their stores unless of course you don't bother telling them.

I once was in a hurry to send a suppressor to surefire for repair so I took it to the UPS shop on 2nd south. I didn't have a box or anything just the suppressor and the paperwork but I figured they would never know what it was so I took the chance. It isn't a firearms so shouldn't be against their rules but employees of Mega corporations aways try to err on the side of protecting their *** so I am certain if they had recognized it for what it was they would have declined to ship it.

When the very helpful gal at the shop asked me "what is it" I replied "a high performance muffler for specialized applications" which is exactly what it is.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,791 Posts
Eukatae said:
When the very helpful gal at the shop asked me "what is it" I replied "a high performance muffler for specialized applications" which is exactly what it is.
I like that. It is very creative.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,195 Posts
I had a gun shipped to me last year. I used Doug's Shoot'n Sports on Redwood Road. They were very good about it--$20 flat fee for the transfer. I also had one shipped to me through Sportsmans Warehouse, $20 flat fee, no problems. Just call them and let them know who you are and a couple of other questions, including contact info, and they will let you know when it arrives. Simple, easy and sfe. :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Cinhil said:
I had a gun shipped to me last year. I used Doug's Shoot'n Sports on Redwood Road. They were very good about it--$20 flat fee for the transfer. I also had one shipped to me through Sportsmans Warehouse, $20 flat fee, no problems. Just call them and let them know who you are and a couple of other questions, including contact info, and they will let you know when it arrives. Simple, easy and sfe. :D
Sportsmans said they will not ship store-store.

Joseph @ Howling Wolf is helping me through this. I appreciate it Joe!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,129 Posts
I have a membership with Bullseye Gun Club for FFL transfers. With James' permission, I"m attaching the new member newsletter so you can see how things work. The fee for the club is $25/year.

- - - - - - -

JAMES WILLIS
THE BULLSEYE GUN CLUB
1180 BELL CASTLE CIRCLE
SANDY, UTAH 84094
801-572-6605
EMAIL: [email protected]

Dear new member:

The Bullseye Gun Club has been around since 1976, and is dedicated to providing its members with a way of purchasing firearms at wholesale prices.

Enclosed you will find 4 copies of our Federal Firearms License. These are for your use. You may at anytime receive additional copies. The membership fee is $25.00 per year and is due on or before your first order. The following are procedures in making a firearms purchase:

1. Look through the Shotgun News or other publications that have sellers of firearms. Find the gun you wish to purchase. This may include a call to them asking about its condition, shipping charges and ordering instructions.

2. Prepare an order, enclose your payment including shipping and handling charges and a signed copy of our firearms license. Email me a copy of your order.

3. When your order is shipped it will be shipped to me, the licensed holder. Upon receipt, I will email you and let you know your shipment is in. I will then prepare the necessary paperwork to transfer your purchase and set a time when you can pick it up.

4. Brady law requires a background check. This is an instant check and costs you $7.50. You also need a copy of your Utah drivers license. Concealed Firearms Permit holders are exempt from paying for the required background check.

There are no mark-ups or commissions charged to club members, however, all federal, state and local laws do apply.

The club at this time is licensed as a class 2 manufacturer and can also handle transfers of title 2 weapons (machine guns & suppressors). If you are interested in purchasing title 2 weapons call about the laws and paperwork requirements. Transfers usually cost an additional $50 plus taxes.

Please feel free to call me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
James Willis
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top