Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,096 Posts
Let's just say that you will have time to take a couple pistol classes before your permit will arrive.

I submitted mine three weeks ago and they still haven't charged my credit card.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
284 Posts
It took 6 weeks 3 days for them to issue my permit before they were "caught up".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
701 Posts
it took me exactly 81 days encluding biz and non biz days. The quoted 60 days is working days and that would be about right for my permit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,096 Posts
FINALLY my credit card was charged today!

Maybe the email I sent them today politely asking about a potentially lost application got them moving on it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
RobFindlay said:
How long from "personal experience" do you reckon I have to wait to get my permit ?

-Rob
Rememer that during the "waiting" period you CAN Open Carry. :dancing:

TJ
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
253 Posts
Congrats!!!! Hope its not too long. Mine took close to 90 days, but that was during a heavy crunch. I've heard all sorts of estimates coming out of the BCI lately, but they seem to be moving a bunch faster. You'll have it before you know it. Start picking out holsters or wearing your carry holster around to get used to it. Then when you get your permit, its an easier transition. Remember, wearing a concealed holster, is not illegal. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,096 Posts
I've already got everything I need, and I have been wearing the holster around the house and at work. However, wearing the holster with a blue gun is a problem. :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,616 Posts
UTOC-45-44 said:
RobFindlay said:
How long from "personal experience" do you reckon I have to wait to get my permit ?

-Rob
Rememer that during the "waiting" period you CAN Open Carry. :dancing:

TJ
UTOC-45-44, when you say this, please don't forget to add the one very important restriction that people must know about. Without a CFP, one can legally open carry, but the gun must be legally unloaded.

Let's not inadvertently or carelessly get people into trouble here. If somebody openly carries a loaded gun without a CFP based on advice they receive here, then we've done them and the pro-gun community a disservice.

Not only that, but everyone should know that we are not lawyers here and cannot give legal advice. People are encouraged to know the gun laws for themselves. I highly recommend that anybody who wants to carry a gun get Utah Gun Law, 3rd Edition and know the law for themselves. Knowledge is power.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
Mazellan said:
it took me exactly 81 days encluding biz and non biz days. The quoted 60 days is working days and that would be about right for my permit.
Are you sure about this the law says 60 days it doesn't say week days.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,167 Posts
marksman said:
Are you sure about this the law says 60 days it doesn't say week days.
The 60 days is found in Utah State Code section 53-5-704.

The point of the 60 days allow the BCI to determine that the applicant is/is not of good character. If they don't find anything, they issue you a permit. But they still have up to 60 days to do that. It's 60 business days because they have to actually be at work and working to determine your character and process your application. If they're not at work, they're not processing, so you must exclude weekends and holidays.

Don't get all stressed about receiving your permit, you can still carry at home in the mean time and you can open carry (with at least two actions required to fire, and not in your car). Take this time to get used to your holster and carry methods. And, you can dry practice - invaluable.

Let us know when it arrives!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
147 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
GeneticsDave said:
marksman said:
Are you sure about this the law says 60 days it doesn't say week days.
The 60 days is found in Utah State Code section 53-5-704.

The point of the 60 days allow the BCI to determine that the applicant is/is not of good character. If they don't find anything, they issue you a permit. But they still have up to 60 days to do that. It's 60 business days because they have to actually be at work and working to determine your character and process your application. If they're not at work, they're not processing, so you must exclude weekends and holidays.

Don't get all stressed about receiving your permit, you can still carry at home in the mean time and you can open carry (with at least two actions required to fire, and not in your car). Take this time to get used to your holster and carry methods. And, you can dry practice - invaluable.

Let us know when it arrives!
I don't fit the "type" to open carry. My style of dress, people would not get it...and I'd rather avoid trouble.

Imagine a goth-punk-metal-cowboy look with a touch of rockabilly thrown in, thats me. I think I'll skip the open carry, not that I have a problem with it.

-R
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,614 Posts
GeneticsDave said:
RobFindlay said:
Imagine a goth-punk-metal-cowboy look with a touch of rockabilly thrown in, thats me.
OK, having difficulty imagining that. Perhaps you could post a self pic? :lol3:
OK, I'm picturing a 4'5" Alice Cooper impersonator with mid-shoulder blade length 'just for men' black hair, painted nails, spiked leather/denim jacket, beat up old straw cowboy hat and too small 501s rolled up to show off his classic blue Keds... :lolbang:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
GeneticsDave said:
The 60 days is found in Utah State Code section 53-5-704.

The point of the 60 days allow the BCI to determine that the applicant is/is not of good character. If they don't find anything, they issue you a permit. But they still have up to 60 days to do that. It's 60 business days because they have to actually be at work and working to determine your character and process your application. If they're not at work, they're not processing, so you must exclude weekends and holidays.
I disagree the law makes no reference to business days. And there is no definition in the utah code law of the term "day". I think the default is the dictionary definition of the word day which is 24 hours. I found no reference in Utah court law for the definition of days but I did find the following yahoo answer that clarifies that legally a day is 24 hours in other jurisdictions. I further note that in other places in the Utah code where the the word days is used (ie the hunting residency requirement) it is referencing calendar days. Also note that other places in the Utah code when the intent is to reference business days the term "Business Day" is used and defined (as in 35A-7-102) It seems to me that the intent of the law was not to set aside a certain number of days that BCI had to do a background check but to limit the number of days that a applicant had to wait for the receipt of their license. This law doesn't provide processing time to the processor but limits waiting time for the applicant. And I am indeed waiting on weekends and holidays, and the number of days I am required to wait is no more than 60.

No I'm not an attorney and if you are I will bow to your greater experience. However from my research according to the law a person should not have to wait more than 60 calendar days. That being said if you did have to wait more that 60 days I doubt there is much action you could take as there are probably no damages you could claim (unless you happen to get mugged or robbed or have a loved one killed in your presence during the lateness period.) So I intend on just sitting back and waiting.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,167 Posts
You should call the BCI and tell them what you said in this post. I agree with your reasoning, you are indeed waiting on weekends. It wasn't my intention to say that they have 60 days to find something wrong, it was more that they have up to that much time to do that and process your application. Let me know what they say, I'd advise talking to a manager-type.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top