Utah Guns Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
US Codes of Federal Regulations, Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Sec. 922(x) says it is unlawful for a person to sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer to a person who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is a juvenile (under age 18 ) a handgun or ammunition that is suitable for use only in a handgun and for a juvenile to poses same. Howver, this law has some exceptions:
- In the course of employment, ranching, farming, target practice, hunting, or a course of instruction in the safe and lawful use of a handgun;
- With the prior written consent of the juvenile's parent or guardian who is not prohibited by Federal, State, or local law from possessing a firearm
- The juvenile has the prior written consent in the juvenile's possession at all times when a handgun is in the possession of the juvenile
- A juvenile who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard who possesses or is armed with a handgun in the line of duty
- Transfer by inheritance of title (but not possession) of a handgun or ammunition to a juvenile
- Possession of a handgun or ammunition by a juvenile taken in defense of the juvenile or other persons against an intruder into the residence of the juvenile or a residence in which the juvenile is an invited guest

USC 76-10-509 says a minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.

Does Utah have exceptions to USC 76-10-509 similar to those in US Codes of Federal Regulations, Title 18, Part I, Chapter 44, Sec. 922(x)? If so, where can find these exceptions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,400 Posts
Car Knocker, you are close. Utah Code 76-10-509.4 prohibits persons under 18 from handgun possession.
Utah Code 76-10-509 allows possession of dangerous weapons that are not handguns.

76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
(1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
(2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
(a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
(b) a fully automatic weapon.
(3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
(a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
(b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
(4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So, although federal law allows minors to possess a handgun with written parental permission, Utah law is more restrictive, prohibiting minors from possessing a handgun, even for training or hunting and regardless of the will of the parents. Correct? If so, that's gotta get fixed. Does that Utah restriction also apply to an air pistol or only to handguns using gunpowder?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,203 Posts
SGT Jensen said:
Car Knocker, you are close. Utah Code 76-10-509.4 prohibits persons under 18 from handgun possession.
Utah Code 76-10-509 allows possession of dangerous weapons that are not handguns.

76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
(1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
(2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
(a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
(b) a fully automatic weapon.
(3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
(a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
(b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
(4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.
See bold
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,400 Posts
xmirage2kx said:
SGT Jensen said:
Car Knocker, you are close. Utah Code 76-10-509.4 prohibits persons under 18 from handgun possession.
Utah Code 76-10-509 allows possession of dangerous weapons that are not handguns.

76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
(1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
(2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
(a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
(b) a fully automatic weapon.
(3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
(a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
(b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
(4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.
See bold
It still does not make an exception to handguns. It says that they may only possess a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or a fully automatic weapon as provided by federal law.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I found the answer I need in 76-10-512.

Target concessions, shooting ranges, competitions, and hunting excepted from prohibitions. (Adopted 2000)
The provisions of Section 76-10-509 and Subsection 76-10-509.4(1) regarding possession of handguns by minors shall not apply to any of the following:
(1) Patrons firing at lawfully operated target concessions at amusement parks, piers, and similar locations provided that the firearms to be used are firmly chained or affixed to the counters.
(2) Any person in attendance at a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course.
(3) Any person engaging in practice or any other lawful use of a firearm at an established range or any other area where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited by state or local law.
(4) Any person engaging in an organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or participating in or practicing for such competition.
(5) Any minor under 18 years of age who is on real property with the permission of the owner, licensee, or lessee of the property and who has the permission of a parent or legal guardian or the owner, licensee, or lessee to possess a firearm not otherwise in violation of law.
(6) Any resident or nonresident hunters with a valid hunting license or other persons who are lawfully engaged in hunting.
(7) Any person traveling to or from any activity described in Subsection (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6) with an unloaded firearm in his possession.

Thanks to those who helped me hunt down the answer. Now I'll feel safe from jail time for letting my 4-H (www.three-peaks.org) kids shoot handguns. Maybe I'll even let 'em shoot the .45 I use for my avatar on this board.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
SGT Jensen said:
Car Knocker, you are close. Utah Code 76-10-509.4 prohibits persons under 18 from handgun possession.
Utah Code 76-10-509 allows possession of dangerous weapons that are not handguns.

76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
(1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
(2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
(a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
(b) a fully automatic weapon.
(3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
(a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
(b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
(4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.
76-10-512. Target concessions, shooting ranges, competitions, and hunting excepted from prohibitions.
The provisions of Section 76-10-509 and Subsection 76-10-509.4(1) regarding possession of handguns by minors shall not apply to any of the following:
(1) Patrons firing at lawfully operated target concessions at amusement parks, piers, and similar locations provided that the firearms to be used are firmly chained or affixed to the counters.
(2) Any person in attendance at a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course.
(3) Any person engaging in practice or any other lawful use of a firearm at an established range or any other area where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited by state or local law.
(4) Any person engaging in an organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or participating in or practicing for such competition.
[b](5) Any minor under 18 years of age who is on real property with the permission of the owner, licensee, or lessee of the property and who has the permission of a parent or legal guardian or the owner, licensee, or lessee to possess a firearm not otherwise in violation of law.[/b] (6) Any resident or nonresident hunters with a valid hunting license or other persons who are lawfully engaged in hunting.
(7) Any person traveling to or from any activity described in Subsection (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6) with an unloaded firearm in his possession.

Amended by Chapter 303, 2000 General Session
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top