Page 2 of 4

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 6:59 pm
by UnderratedF00l
It looks like its a comcast DNS issue. I also have Comcast but cn only get the site to work on my tablet when not connected to my home network.

Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 7:05 pm
by Snurd
I have Comcast as well, but while out and about with Verizon I still couldn't get on.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 7:05 pm
by quychang
I agree it's a comcast issue, I connected using a public proxy server with no problem. Not that it will likely do any good, but I'm getting on the phone to comcast tech support now.

Quychang

Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 7:08 pm
by Snurd
Also, while on Comcast I could get on the other forum I'm on all the time. , just not this one.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 7:36 pm
by jktseug
UnderratedF00l wrote:It looks like its a comcast DNS issue. I also have Comcast but cn only get the site to work on my tablet when not connected to my home network.


I don't think it is a DNS issue, because I get the correct IP address when looking it up. I have comcast as well.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012 8:20 pm
by quychang
Well. I just spent an hour of totally unproductive time with Comcast support, both online and telephone. They suggest having the site administrator check to see if he\\\'s blocking comcast IP addresses.

Some back ground. I have worked as a tech support agent and supervisor for two major ISP\\\'s supporting both dial up and High speed internet. I have troubleshot this from my end. I would bet money that there is a blocked IP table in Comcast NOC that is causing the issue. I have pointed this out to them, to no avail. So for now I would suggest people use a proxy server, just search for it, they\\\'re easy to find and use. Basically you connect to one, it asks for a url, and redirects to it. Works fine, that\\\'s how I\\\'m typing this. The site admin needs to make sure they aren\\\'t blocking Comcast (99% sure they aren\\\'t) and contact their provider to get it resolved. Most likely by the sites host contacting Comcast\\\'s NOC and getting the block removed.

Self edited explitive, I\\\'m glad I no longer work in that industry.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 5:39 am
by jobot
roseblood wrote:I can't get to the site when on Comcast, but just fine on Sprint and AT&T

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2


I am also having this problem.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 8:37 am
by gravedancer
Im on comcast at home and havent noticed any problems. Though I cant say for certain I tried to get on the forum yesterday, Im pretty sure I did on saturday.

Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 10:04 am
by Snurd
Also wouldn't let me on this morning. This is the first time I've been able to get on today.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 10:12 am
by Paul
Snurd wrote:Also wouldn't let me on this morning. This is the first time I've been able to get on today.

Snurd, we are trying to keep you away!
Kidding.
Not sure what is going on. I'll try to get to it when I get some time. May be a few days though. Hope you guys understand. Me or Jeff will get to it as quick as one of us can.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 11:06 am
by Hawk87
AH! It worked! I have comcast and this is the first time I have been able to get on in the last 3 days.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 11:17 am
by beef84084
ya first time i have been able to get on in 2 days also, forum has been down for me, just said could not connect to server. also using comcast

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 11:19 am
by UnderratedF00l
Yup, working great from home now (with no proxies).

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 11:25 am
by MichaelD
Confirmed. UCC on Comcast is working again.

Re: Forum down

PostPosted: Mon 21 May 2012 11:35 am
by jobot
Paul, I have spent some time with comcast regarding the issue. The problem according to comcast is that you are on a shared ip hosting plan with a known phishing site. Comcast said that they would unblock your ip sometime this afternoon. I tried to call godaddy regarding the problem but they refused to help. Let me know if you want me to help you.


- joseph