Why pay so much for a knife??

This is an area to discuss general issues regarding knives, swords, and other non-firearm weapons.

Why pay so much for a knife??

Postby wolverine_173 » Sun 26 Feb 2012 3:13 pm

So im new to knives but i want to get one for conceal carry, just a folding knife. I heard people like gerber, spyderco, cold steel but many of these knives cost 60 or 70 bucks whats makes them so much better than a 20 dollar pocket knife? or something like this? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Smith-Wesson-Po ... lectible_K
wolverine_173
Marksman

Re: Why pay so much for a knife??

Postby Snurd » Sun 26 Feb 2012 3:25 pm

You get what you pay for. I have a few cheap knives, and the steel is crap, and they don't hold an edge very well. The more expensive knives have steel that is much harder and keeps an edge longer. They are also built way better. You can get some decent knives on Amazon for around $35-50 that would be more at local shops. I have a Spiderco Tenacious knife that I picked up for $36 on Amazon. It's just over $30 now.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001EI ... ull-site=1
It has a nice sharp edge, but is a little bigger than other knives.
The more expensive knives are much better though, and you'll notice if you put them side by side with a cheap model. The extra money is worth it.
Snurd
Posse

Postby Snowman » Sun 26 Feb 2012 3:39 pm

I saw the title, and thought, I do!

The comparison between a 70$ cold steel and a 20$ smith and wesson is dramatic. And if you get the chance to handle a 200$ benchmade, it can put coldsteel to shame. They last longer, sharpen easyer to sharpen, hold a sharper edge... it goes on and on. The steel they use is higher quality they don't fall apart, get lose or break so quickly. I have worn out 1 smith and wesson, and 2 other el cheapos. I have a kershaw, and a cold steel, both more the 5 years old now, and neither shows anything but cosmetic wear, and a scratch or two from sharpening.