I need a deer skinning knife

This is an area to discuss general issues regarding knives, swords, and other non-firearm weapons.

I need a deer skinning knife

Postby wolverine_173 » Sun 13 Oct 2013 2:13 pm

I need opinions on a decent deer gutting and skinning knife. Im new to hunting and would like to spend $50 or less.
wolverine_173
Marksman

Re: I need a deer skinning knife

Postby jobot » Sun 13 Oct 2013 6:37 pm

I have a cold steel master hunter with gut hook I will sell you for 75.
jobot
Marksman

Postby Nicksp » Mon 14 Oct 2013 7:41 am

Last year, right about this time, I shot my first deer. I asked one of my neighbors to help me dress it out. It was my big opportunity to use the special hunting knife that I had bought many years before. I used my expensive knife, my very experienced neighbor use his POCKET KNIFE. The blade he used was smaller than my little finger and he never sharpened it. He easily did it all, from skinning to cutting the joints in the legs. My knife worked very well for skinning, but when I tried to cut the leg joints, the edge rolled. After that, I struggled with my fancy knife, even after resharpening, until he took over with his little knife.

I'll likely never use my fancy knife again.

Nick
The lust for POWER is the true root of all evil.
Nicksp
Marksman

Postby wolverine_173 » Mon 14 Oct 2013 7:46 am

Last year i used a 10 dollar knife and it dulled very quick which made the rest of the process very difficilt
wolverine_173
Marksman

Postby JoeRandall » Mon 14 Oct 2013 8:33 am

I have recently got a outdoor edge swing blade to test from the North American hunting club. I haven't used it yet (didn't find any bull elk). But my buddy said there great. When I finally use it I will post a review.