Great EDC lights from Convoy

This forum should be used to review other non firearm items such as flashlights, lasers and other sights, holsters, etc.

Great EDC lights from Convoy

Postby manithree » Sat 22 Oct 2016 12:57 pm

Looking for a really high quality EDC flashlight that's extremely inexpensive, and much higher quality than it seems like it could possibly be for the price?

I've been carrying a Convoy S2+ for over 6 months now, and I can't believe what a bargain they are. Here's my current collection:
All3-600.jpg
All3-600.jpg (74.22 KiB) Viewed 1299 times

As you can see, the S2+ is available in 18650 or CR123 (16340). The smaller one, naturally, doesn't have the runtime, but it's really pocketable. You can also buy the tubes separately so you can switch one light to either battery size.

You'll notice that the center light has some nicks in the finish on both ends. That brings up 2 of the reasons why I like these lights and have a lot of confidence in them.

First, if you have an occasional need for strobe, say, biking, but don't like the hassle of always having 5 modes to flip through to get to the one you want, you'll love the dual modes on the S2+. For every-day carry, I leave it in its 3-mode setting, with just lo, med, and hi available. But when I get on my bike, I switch it 5-mode so I can use strobe if I want to. Very handy.

The damage to the middle light came from that one getting knocked off my handlebars and hitting hard on the concrete. I was probably going 20 mph. Obviously, it wasn't unscathed, but it didn't even change the mode on the light from a pretty serious impact. And it still works just fine. I don't use that mount any more. I have P60-compatible Chinese lights that change mode when I hop a curb, or just hit a little bump. The Convoys are a major step up from those in just about every way, except price.