Utah Guns Forum banner

Questions from a newbie

4K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  dewittdj 
#1 ·
Hi Ladies!

I'm Becca and I'm new to the forum. I've been lurking for a while, but finally got my CFP and figured I should join in the conversation instead of just reading stuff. Being fairly new to firearms, and very new to concealed carry, I do have some questions that maybe you fine ladies could help answer. I'm curious, what is your EDC and how do you carry? I was thinking I would use an ankle holster at work, since I wear flowy dress pants and have a desk job, but other times I would like to carry on the waist. If Sarahbn is out there, I'm curious what ankle holster you use? I'm hoping to get a lot more practice and a lot more comfortable with carrying a gun. Thanks in advance for all your help.

#2 ·
Hi Becca! Newbie here as well. :D

I am still waiting on my CFP, but I practice around the house. My EDC is a Ruger LC9 with the LaserMax attached. Right now I'm using the Remora No Clip IWB holster. It's very comfy and fits me well. I wear it in the 4:00/5:00 position, right above my right butt cheek. I'm trying to get used to having the gun change my "shape" in clothes. I generally wear pretty fitted clothing and the extended pinky grip on the LC9 kind of sticks out no matter how I wear it...I'm working on that though. I think I'm going to look into an open carry holster as well. It's good to have options, right?

#4 ·
I am sorry I missed this earlier. :oops:

As mentioned, there are many options bases on dress, body shape and gun size but I would caution you to think about a few things as you are picking where/how to carry.

1. Where is the muzzle pointed when holstered?
2. How will I safely draw from this position without sweeping myself or anyone else?
3. Am I willing to train on how I will actually draw from this position?
4. Is it a retention style or non-retention?